A colleague of mine brought my attention to this course: Analysis, Modeling and Simulation of Collective Dynamics from Bacteria to Crowds to be held from July 9, 2012 to July 13, 2012 at the International Centre for Mechanical Sciences (CISM) in Udine, Italy. This is closely related to the topic I described in my previous post about models for consensus dynamics and related phenomena.

The abstract reads really interesting and the lists of topics includes

  • Kinetic models for self-organized collective motion.
  • Discrete and continuum dynamics of reacting and interacting individuals.
  • Finite-speed propagation models of chemo-tactic movements.
  • Modeling with measures.

Especially the last point catched my interest since I think that a proper model of “collective motion” should be done in measure spaces due to the inherent convergence to singular phenomena (in the case of collective motion the singularity will occur in velocity and not in space).

As another side remark, I was surprised to see that my former ZeTeM colleague Adrian Muntean is one of the organizers. It’s a pity that I can not join this course and would like to see notes of the planned lectures.