Have you heard of Boris’s Law of Blogging? No? I also tried to stick to it from the beginning (although I do not know this guy named Boris) because wordpress does recommend a similar thing when you start a blog. Well, I did not always succeed to stick to it and now it’s almost three weeks since my last post. I thought about writing about advice to mathematicians at the beginning of their career. Don’t worry, I am not going to write about my own case, basically because it is not special and I do not have special advice to share. However, I benefited from advice by others and here is a short list:

Edit: Some days after finishing this post I remembered another great advice. I hope that the author does not mind if I share. It’s from the Iserles rules of academic happiness and it is “It is always easier to apologize than to ask for permission.”

