I learned today that Ulrich Tautenhahn passed away last year in October. Although he was not a colloborator of mine and I did not know him very well, I thought I could dedicate a small post to him. Ulrich Tautenhahn worked in inverse problems and regularization theory and I was especially interested in his work on parameter choice rules (a problem which, in my humble opinion, could get more attention, by the way). He was one of the early pioneers in inverse problems in the former GDR and wrote his PhD thesis on nonlinear inverse problems as early as 1980.If you go through his list of publications you will see that he worked on quite a lot of different aspects of inverse problems. His activity has increased lately and he also followed recent trends like regularization in Banach spaces and multiparameter regularization. Farewell, Mr. Tautenhahn.

